New here? Sign Up Have an account?

Shaggy still seeking his Velma

Male (45) looking for Female Portland, Oregon, United States

I am a solutions architect and business analyst by trade who's lost his way from being a fine artist 20+ years ago. Most of my adult life I've been a slave for "the man" and recently left the hamster wheel of corporate life. I've gone out on my own and I'm still swimming against a pretty strong current. I'm unsure if I'll stay afloat, but know that if I loose it all I still have family and friends to fall back on.

This last year has been an epiphany for me. Something others may take for granted and think, "will duh".. is that life is about experiences and not stuff. I made the mistake of focusing on things that ultimately didn't make me happy. You may be familiar with the saying, "You don't own things, the things own you". My father died a few years back and my mother dumped most of his belongings on my back. She wanted a clean break you see, removing all of the reminders of someone you've been with for over 40 years can be taxing on the soul.. This I understand.

So I've chosen the few items most important to me and the rest I'm selling along with much of the collectible doodads I've collected over the last 20+ years.. it is kind of a hassle, but also freeing in a way. But I can't really claim some sense of universal karma here, I mean I'm trying to never have to "work" at a 9 to 5 job ever again. So you should be prepared for that, I am living on a budget and counting my pennies. All that means is both of us will need to be creative in finding low cost experiences and things to see and feel. Depending on how often I get freelance consulting will determine our "play" budget. And depending on how our relationship grows that budget may be a collection together or something we take turns funding.

This last year I finally got to go on a vacation (it had been over five years since my last). And It was amazing, I drove around southern Oregon spending two weeks in cabins out in the middle of nowhere, hopping from one cheap motel to the next as I drove around seeing the Oregon caves, crater lake, southern Oregon beaches and even taking a day long jet boat ride. What would have made is prefect was someone to experience it with..

That's what I had to learn the hard way that life is about experiences not collecting stuff. That the stuff, is a byproduct of experiencing life, learning and growing through hardship and trying your damnedist to be a better person at the other end.

A few more things about myself, I generally don't drink, smoke, or do drugs. I don't generally have anything against my partner if they do as long as it doesn't become a problem or results in a downward spiral of drama and financial hardship. To be clear I do drink once and a while, but mostly to sample something. I really don't like hard liquor and even when I do drink I won't finish the glass I have. Most of this is due to having many family members who were addicts to drugs, alcohol and cigarettes. So it is safe to day I don't ever drink to excess.

I do not support nor follow any organized religions. I would say I'm spiritual and mostly a humanist by nature. I believe in people, (though many have let me down) and not any concepts based on guilt nor worship. If you are religious then I would respect your faith, but don't expect me to convert nor support it. While I didn't grow up in a religious family we still practice the more traditional Christian holidays. Even though for me it is about spending time with friends and family and not the act of a religious ceremony or right.

Oh, I was born in Hood River, Oregon and raised in a small town called Cascade Locks, Oregon. I have spent most of my life in Oregon with a few points where I left and came back. Recently over the last four years my jobs sent me all over the Eastcoast for the first time. I'd love to go back again for vacation some time.

I have this crazy dream, to go on a two to four week train ride from Portland, Oregon to Niagra Falls, Ontario (or somewhere that take a week or two). That or a driving trip seeing crazy things or just finding spots to take photographs.

So, if my babbling made you want to know more then reach out to me.

Sign Up 100% FREE to Get In Touch

Join Free Here

Punk Lifestyle

Favorite punk bandI mostly listen to a genre on Pandora
Preferred type of punk rockGarage Punk, Glam Punk, Hardcore Punk, Noise Punk, Psychobilly, Punk Jazz, Skate Punk

Cat(s)

Cat breedBangle

Gaming Preferences

GenresFirst Person Shooter, Action/Adventure, Strategy (ex: Tower Defense), Puzzle, Role Playing
Gaming systemsPC, PlayStation, Other (Sega, Atari, etc)
Top 3 favorite gamesUncharted series, Skyrim, Fallout

Appearance

EthnicityCaucasian / White
National heritageIrish
BuildThick
Height180 cm
Eye ColorBrown
Hair ColorGrey
Hair LengthBald
Facial HairFull beard
Health ConditionNo special Health Conditions
My AttractivenessAverage

Situation

Relationship StatusSingle
Has childrenNo children
Wants kidsNot sure
Housing SituationAll is calm
Living ArrangementsAlone
Wants to RelocateNo
Have PetsCat
Has a carYes

Education & Employment

EducationUniversity Bachelors
SpecialtyComputers / Electronic
Employment StatusSelf-employed
Annual income$50,000 - $100,000
Job TitleSolutions Architect, Software Engineer

Leisure & Fun

TV preferencesCartoons, Documentaries, Science fiction
Favorite TV showsStar Trek Deep Space 9, Babylon 5, Stargate SG-1, Game of Thrones, The walking dead, Angle, Buffy the Vampire slayer, The Tick,
Favorite movies typesAction, Science fiction, Documentary, Animation, Horror
Favorite moviesLegend, Princess Bride, Star Wars IV V VI, Star Trek, Marvel movies, Blade Runner, Dune, Superman, Batman,
Music typesCountry, Rap, Rock, Metal, Electronic, Classical, Blues, Jazz, Industrial, Latin, New age, Ambient, Dance, Soul, Reggae, Gospel, Folk, Punk
Favorite artistsPretty must everything but top 40 pop.. if it is on the top 40 radio I hate it. I really have a thing for 1920s jazz.
Reading selectionAncient, Business, Comic, Computers, Fantasy, Fiction, Humor, Nature, Philosophy, Reference, Science, Science fiction, Technical
Favorite booksDon't have a favorite book, for the most part I read for study mostly. Every so often I may read for pleasure.. but sadly I rarely have time to do so.
Idea of funGoing for a walk to see the sights around me and take pictures. Playing cards or games with my friends either in one of our homes or out in a social gathering like a pub or restaurant. Going out to see a movie, play, or speaking engagement or just wandering around Powell books for hours and then grabbing some pizza near by. I love to go hiking, but most of the time my work makes it a rare occasion to go.
HobbiesArts & Crafts, Learning, TV, Movies, Internet, Games, Family, Dining, Photography, Theater, Travel, Cooking, Playing cards, Computers

Personality

SmokerDon't smoke
DrinkingOne or two
Social behaviorObservant
Sense of humorFriendly
My great timeHanging out with friends, Staying at home, Trying new things, The movies, Relaxing, Sleeping, Playing video games, TV, Going to a concert, Going to a museum
Always wanted to tryAlmost anything once.

Views

Political viewsLiberal
ReligionAgnostic
Attend religious servicesNever
Goal in lifeTo live comfortably while finding a way to positively improve the lives of others. To change our society away from capitalistic destruction and provide a means to improve and elevate mine and other's potential to be more than just cogs in a machine creating more capital for the few.

I want to value my successes based on the number of lives I've helped than the size of my bank account.

Looking For

Must haveIntelligence, Humor, Great skills, Empathy, Wit, Thoughtfulness
Look for in a partnerSomeone I can have great conversations with even argue with. But at the end of the day we love each other and support each other even with our faults. I need a partner who would challenge me to learn and grow as I would for my partner. My partner should have their own goals, desires, career, hobbies, and interests. We would enjoy each other's company and work together to plan our next adventure.
On the first dateI'd recommend an initial meeting informally in a public place to get coffee or a quick lunch. Talk about our likes and dislikes, interests, and motivations in life. Depending on how our first meeting goes we'd mutually decide if we wish to meet again either for lunch or a dinner and perhaps even plan a "real date".

I prefer to have a mutual exchange where each of us takes turns planning an event. Once we've learned more about each other it may be easier to come up with ideas for activities the other may enjoy. I would be reasonable to set a spending limit and identify any strong dislikes or risks, such as food allergies, types of food to avoid, and activities that we each don't enjoy.

Of course there is also the opportunity to provide a spontaneous surprise. But I feel that is something that requires a longer term relationship to "pull off".
Age36-45, 46-55
EthnicityNo preference
Body typeNo preference